Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Thinking of buying a utility shell for a stealth/adventure vehicle camper.
I want to build a go anywhere stealth camper and hopefully use my paid off 2004 Tacoma as a base. It's been lifted with larger A/T tires installed. Next upgrade is a limited slip diff. I work in the oilfield so I have housing most of the time. I want this rig to be be a go anywhere ( within reason , no rock crawling or mud bogging) vehicle to fill in the blanks between jobs. Sometimes I'll be visiting/ staying with friends and family in TX/CA so it won't be full time.

I'm interested in this large fiberglass utility body, as it is roomy and light weight. I would do an opening boat hatch on the top and a sliding window in the front to meet up with the truck's rear cab window.

My concern is condensation, but with all of the people living in boats and fiberglass trailers, surely there is a solution to this problem?

Please let me know what you think, Will

[Image: 22435c53.jpg]

[Image: be8ed92d.jpg]

[Image: 891ec071.jpg]
On a Ford Ranger with a 6' bed (like mine).
[Image: 677fb2ce.jpg]
My truck:
[Image: 943b59bf.jpg]
Add Thank You Reply
I found there was lots of condensation with Propane, now when I put a big chunk of metal over the propane heater, it heated it up, dispersed the heat better and did some steady mass heating as in residual heating. I did notice a drop in the moisture when I was using the metal, so assuming it is heating up and the water in the air is causing dissipation of moisture on it? 
Add Thank You Reply
Telcobilly, the little molded fiberglass Scamp trailers use a layer of something similar to Reflectix glued to the walls and ceiling with a fuzzy marine fabric (that won't mildew) over it for insulation and to prevent condensation. 

Would a marine fabric liner work for you?

That's the first time I've seen those shells.  I'm intrigued by all the possibilities they present.
Add Thank You Reply