Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Should I accept a part time camp host position in hopes of getting a full time one?
I have an opportunity to accept a campground host position. This goal is something I've been working toward for 2 years or so; however, it is very part time at only 15 hours/week at $10.20/hour. After taxes and 6 months worth of work, that is about $2900. Monthly that is about $483. That isn't taking out fuel and other expenses. Clearly, that is a very small amount of money. I could get by on that barely if I had no unforeseen expenses, but I want more. I don't think I am wanting too much, but am concerned my wants and needs may be off-putting to the employer.

What are my odds of the employer offering me a full time position after accepting the part time one? Another concern is if I don't accept the part time position, will the employer be less inclined to keep me in mind for a more full time position (30+ hours)? The position is through CLM Services at a campground in Colorado.

Another possibility: Would there be opportunities for me to supplement my income by working at another part time job while working the campground host position? That is a terribly vague question. I'm just talking this out.

I've turned down a dozen campground host positions because the stipends were too small ($100/month). I want to achieve my goal while being able to reasonably support myself financially.
“If I could be half the person my dog is, I'd be twice the human I am.” ―Charles Yu
Add Thank You Reply
Ask them about the supplemental, are you a good cook?

Food truck!

Population center nearby?

Unfortunately so many desperate people out there, you've picked a career where these outsourcing cowboys can just fleece people at will.

But you might get lucky, won't really know til you get there.
Add Thank You Reply