VanDweller Community Forums

Full Version: 2002 Ford E250 with rust
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Just got an E250 extended and pulled up the floor to reveal some small rust spots and lots of drilled holes. What are my best options for a.) Filling existing holes b.) Paint to use to help keep the seals weather proof c.) Paint to use to stop rust.

I am a newbie and this is my first build so I may have many more questions. TIA!
Well I figured out some stuff! Anyone who's interested.. got some 3M body repair mesh for the bigger hole and will put body filler over that. Then I'm putting silicone over all of the small holes and a bit of tape until it's dry. Going with some auto enamel by Rust-Oleum to spray paint finish the inside over the old rust spots. Hoping it goes well!
Rust is one of those living invasive cancer for metal things best you should do is keep it at bay. My father used naval jelly on his old jalopy My plan of action would be much like yours. But don't get too perturbed . My house is about 3 miles from the Pacific ocean and have always lived close to salt water. Just saying don't allow it to ruin your experience. Welcome aboard by the way.
got any pics? first thing is all the rust needs to go. cut it out, grind it off, treat it with rust converter. silicone is a poor choice for filling holes or for anything for that matter. highdesertranger
High desert ranger what would you recommend that I use to fill the holes? And does anyone know about how long a van will keep heat at night after bring insulated?
that's why I am asking for pics to see what we are dealing with. there is rust and then there is rust, you know what I mean Vern. highdesertranger
[Image: 5n0yg0.jpg]

That's the large hole I've been referring to. Bad pic but all I've got for now. Mostly surface rust elsewhere as it's a Colorado van.