VanDweller Community Forums

Full Version: Where Can I Find Maps Of BLM Land?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Im kinda new to this but it seems like most BLM land is out west. I did a quick google search and do see they have a division and office in midwest and eastern states. I'm looking for BLM land in Illinois, Indiana, Wisconsin, Michigan. I don't seem to see any mention of where the land is or maps. Can anyone help me out?
google it by state.......if it doesnt come up.......there is none

the states you mentioned stand a better chance at having National forest land on them or trusts
The BLM does manage some land in the east but it's not opened for boondocking like the western https://www.blm.gov/maps

For national forests go here - http://www.fs.fed.us/locatormap/
I find that Benchmark atlases are the best source of public land maps unless you want only a specific region. The AZ atlas is particularly useful but I also use the WA, OR, ID, NV, UT, NM and CA Benchmark maps. And there is this ultra-useful site: Ultimate Public Campground Project It includes dispersed camping.
Ya I was surprised to learn Indiana Dunes I guess is a national park but they seem to be super strict about camping, doubt you could do boondocking there, shame too cuz its an awesome area minus the nuclear plants and refineries on each side of the beach lol
you have me scratching my head......Indiana Dunes allows Dispersed camping... 14/30 days, I frequent Mt. Baldy when Im out there.

if you consider boondocking or living in your RV for more than 2 weeks in one spot....Then no , there are not to many LTA's outside of the dessert areas.

I frequent the hardest National parks because of being on the East coast...and have yet to be in one that didnt have dispersed camping!!