VanDweller Community Forums

Full Version: Reflectix 101
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I see this used all over, and have heard several ways it can be used. I figured starting a thread which explores its basic to advanced uses would be of great benefit to everyone here. Hopefully informative enough to become a sticky thread.

Since I'm a bit of a newb and haven't used it at all, only heard, I'd like those who've experience with it to chime in and possibly give us a tutorial (cutting, fastening, best uses).

Thanks
Steven
We have it mostly for winter use to insulate windows. Right now, we're parked nose to the east, so the big back window (west) is covered with shades down and curtains closed to block the sun's heat. Along the south side I've folded them to just cover the half of the window that doesn't open and we get air thru the screens. (There's also a "curtain" of shade cloth that I installed inside the screen door that drops down to break the sun...it rolls up by hand, secured with velcro.)

It also makes a handy quicky solar oven.

The pieces are cut to fit and stay in place on their own in our particular window frames.

I'll leave van insulation uses to those using it, but it does have several useful applications.

`
How can this be better than solid, on-the- roll house attic insulation? If so, why aren't home builders using it?
Has anyone out there used on-the-roll house attic insulation in their van? Did you like it?
I know that you need an "air gap" between the insulation. Bob puts a board on top of his roof rack to help shield the sun. This gives the van shade on the roof and, in a way, an attic. Why don't I see more vandwellers doing this? Would this help with cold also, for example long standing snow on a van roof?